2014 Sandy Martin Grassroots Award Winners - Taryn Aiken (Utah), Jeff and Laura Edwards (Michigan), and Kelly McEntee (Pennsylvania)

AFSP’s 2014 Grassroots Award, is named for Sandy Martin, who served on SPAN USA’s Board of Directors from 2002 to 2006. Sandy lost her 17-year-old son, Tony Martin, to suicide in 1988.

The Sandy Martin Grassroots Award is presented to “unsung heroes” working at the local, state or national level who clearly exemplify sustained commitment to the mission of suicide prevention. These grassroots advocates for suicide prevention devote their time and energy, many at great sacrifice to themselves and their families, to further AFSP’s missions and programs. Last year, Linda de Sosa of Texas received this award.

This year’s winners, Taryn Aiken (Utah), Jeff and Laura Edwards (Michigan), and Kelly McEntee (Pennsylvania), are quintessential examples of advocates who have been committed to and have a deep passion for suicide prevention and education.  

Taryn Aiken

Taryn Aiken (Utah)

Jeff and Laura_2014 Walk Photo 2013

Jeff and Laura Edwards (Michigan)

Kelly McEntee

Kelly McEntee (Pennsylvania)