About Our Chapter

Welcome. We are the Florida Southeast chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

The grassroots work we do focuses on eliminating the loss of life from suicide by: delivering innovative prevention programs, educating the public about risk factors and warning signs, raising funds for suicide research and programs, and reaching out to those individuals who have lost someone to suicide.

As a part of AFSP’s growing nationwide network of chapters, we bring together people from all backgrounds who want to prevent suicide in our communities. Families and friends who have lost someone to suicide, vulnerable individuals, mental health professionals, clergy, educators, students, community/business leaders, and many others energize our chapter.

History and Background of AFSP Florida Southeast

The AFSP Florida Southeast Chapter was created in November of 2001 by Norman and Joan Fine, who lost their son, Michael, to suicide.

AFSP Florida Southeast’s presence is felt throughout Southeast Florida from Indian River County to the Florida Keys. In addition to providing facilitator training for Suicide Support Groups, AFSP Florida SE provides a number of survivor and prevention programs throughout its chapter area, including programs for schools, businesses, colleges, hospitals, and those with lived experience.

Over the years, dedicated volunteers have contributed greatly of their time and energy in supporting the mission of AFSP through such efforts as the Out of the Darkness Walks held each year in Palm Beach County, Miami/Dade County, Broward County, Monroe County, and Martin County.  Stay tuned for more locations soon!

AFSP Florida SE has been a long time participant in the Annual Survivors of Suicide Loss Day Conference, enabling local survivors of suicide to connect with each other in a day of healing.

AFSP Florida Southeast’s commitment to raising money for research and community outreach and education programs is ongoing.  Its commitment to removing the stigma associated with death by suicide is paramount.

Board of Directors

Board Chair - Adriane Cantwell, Florida Power & Light
Board President – Dr. Charles B. Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D., University of Miami

Leonard M. Miller Professor & Chairman, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Director Center on Aging, University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine.

After graduating from the City College of New York in 1970, he enrolled in graduate school at Northeastern University and received a Master's degree in Biology in 1973.  He received his MD and PhD (Neurobiology) from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. His residency training in psychiatry was conducted at both the University of North Carolina and at Duke University.  In 2009 he joined the University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine as the Leonard M. Miller Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Director of the Center on Aging.  His research has concentrated on the biological basis of the major neuropsychiatric disorders, including affective disorders, schizophrenia, and anxiety disorders.  His clinical research is focused on the use of genetic, neuroendocrine, neuroimaging and neurochemical methods to comprehensively understand the pathophysiology of depression.

He has published more than 950 research reports and reviews.

Members of the Board of Directors:

Kendall Brown

Dana Abrams

Robert Abrams

Mikhaila Berkman

Kelly Feintech

John Platt

Adriana Trespalacios