About Our Chapter

Board of Directors

2015 Board of Directors and staff (from left to right): Stuart Winborne (Associate Area Director), Jason Weeks, Dorian Lamis, Joe Martin, Gregg Graham, Boadie Dunlop, Belinda McIntosh, Deb Stone, Jeff Rakofsky, Roland Behm and Chris Owens (Area Director)

Welcome. We are the Georgia chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

The grassroots work we do focuses on eliminating the loss of life from suicide by: delivering innovative prevention programs, educating the public about risk factors and warning signs, raising funds for suicide research and programs, and reaching out to those individuals who have lost someone to suicide.

As a part of AFSP’s growing nationwide network of chapters, we bring together people from all backgrounds who want to prevent suicide in our communities. Families and friends who have lost someone to suicide, vulnerable individuals, mental health professionals, clergy, educators, students, community/business leaders, and many others energize our chapter.

2014 Board of Directors:

Dr. Dorian Lamis, President

Dr. Lamis is an assistant professor in the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the Emory University School of Medicine. His research focuses on risk and protective factors for suicidal behaviors in a variety of populations including adolescents, young adults (e.g., college students), and African Americans. He has published over 80 peer reviewed articles and book chapters on suicide and related topics. He is also senior editor of the book, Understanding and Preventing College Student Suicide, published in 2011, by Charles C. Thomas Publishers. Dr. Lamis also has a strong interest in clinical work, especially with populations who are at-risk for suicide and other self-harm behaviors.

Roland Behm, Chair

Roland Behm and his wife, Ellen, have been married for thirty years. They have two adult children, Laura and Kyle.

Roland did his undergraduate work at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, receiving a BA in Economics and History in 1982. He received his JD from the University of Georgia School of Law in 1987.

Roland has practiced law since 1987, both with law firms and as in-house counsel. He has lived and worked as a lawyer in Washington, D.C., Prague in the Czech Republic, and Atlanta. Roland is currently challenging the use of pre-employment personality assessments by a number of companies, alleging that the assessments discriminate against persons with mental illness in violation of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Board Members:

Roland Behm, Dr. Boadie Dunlop, Gregg Graham, Joe Martin, Dr. Belinda McIntosh, Deb Stone, and Dr. Jeff Rakofsky.

Board of Advisors:

Beth Finnerty, Paula Gomes, Trace Haythorn, Mary Lisa Henry, Nancy Hupp, Sarah Juul, Nadine Kaslow, Dr. Carol Koplan, Suzanne Lindsey, Dr. Lauren Moffitt-Edwards, Dr. Mark Rapaport, Jeff Romig, and Anna Ruth Williams.


Area Director: Chris Owens

Chris is a graduate of Duquesne University with a Bachelor's of Science degree in Nursing. Previously a psychiatric and research nurse at Duke University, she started with AFSP organizing the first Out of the Darkness Walks in Atlanta in 2004 then helped start the chapter in 2006.  Originally from Pennsylvania, she has lived in Metro Atlanta for 23 years.

Associate Area Director:  Stuart Winborne

Stuart is a native Atlantan who grew up in Sandy Springs. After graduating from Riverwood High School, Stuart attended Elon University in North Carolina and University of Texas in Austin where she earned her Master’s in Social Work. Stuart has spent the last ten years working in non-profit management in the Atlanta area. She also manages her family’s foundation, The Bachman Fund, which teaches high school students about the importance of philanthropy.