About Our Chapter

About Our Chapter

Welcome. We are the Hudson Valley New York chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

The grassroots work we do focuses on eliminating the loss of life from suicide by: delivering innovative prevention programs, educating the public about risk factors and warning signs, raising funds for suicide research and programs, and reaching out to those individuals who have lost someone to suicide.

As a part of AFSP’s growing nationwide network of chapters, we bring together people from all backgrounds who want to prevent suicide in our communities. Families and friends who have lost someone to suicide, vulnerable individuals, mental health professionals, clergy, educators, students, community/business leaders, and many others energize our chapter.

The Hudson Valley Chapter was chartered in January 2009 and covers six counties: Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan and Ulster.

Our chapter is comprised of a Board of Directors that manages the affairs, funds and property of the Chapter. We strive to enhance leadership resources and shape a progressive future for AFSP-HV.

The Board’s strategy seeks to prepare, involve, and sustain competent leaders from diverse backgrounds who are dedicated to addressing the public health issue of suicide. In hand, AFSP-HV embraces our responsibility to educate others about mood disorders and suicide prevention.

Our board members bring a breadth of skills, experience and diversity to the organization. Each board member is committed to the organization and actively volunteers in the community in a variety of ways.

Our Board of Directors:

Steve Dolce, Chairman

Robert Hennessey, Treasurer

Michelle Jones, Secretary

Board Members:

Lisa Murray, Development Committee Chair

Sean Gerow, Public Policy Committee Chair

Judy Battista, Survivor Outreach Coordinator: survivoroutreach@ymail.com

Ann Marie D'Aliso, Education Committee Chair

Alison MacAvery

Dr. Lori Arella

Angela Amoia-Lutz, LMFT

Marissa Ruff, Advertising Committee Chair

Amy Sullivan

Diane Missasi

Julie Okoniewski

Maria Idoni, Area Director (midoni@afsp.org)