Board of Directors

The AFSP board is composed of esteemed scientists, dedicated survivors of suicide loss, people with mental disorders and their families, and business and community leaders who play leading roles in the Foundation’s work.


Nancy Farrell, M.P.A., Chair*

Regina Villa Associates

Yeates Conwell, M.D., President*

University of Rochester

Maria Oquendo, M.D., Vice President*

Columbia University

Alan Weeks, Secretary*

James Compton, Treasurer*

United Airlines


Michael Ballard

Mark Brookshire

Philip Chappell

Pfizer Inc. 

Keith Cherry, Ph.D.

Deloitte Consulting LLP

David A. Dodd*

Dwight L. Evans, M.D.

University of Pennsylvania

Norman Fine

Steinberg Global Asset Management

John Greden, M.D.

University of Michigan

Kay Redfield Jamison, Ph.D. (Emeritus Member)

Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Shirley Kaminsky

Richard B. Kirchhoff, D.D.S.

J. John Mann, M.D.

Columbia University Medical Center

Robert Nau*

Charles B. Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D.

University of Miami

Philip T. Ninan, M.D.

David Norton, Immediate Past Chair*

Kelly Posner, Ph.D.

Columbia University Medical Center

Andrew Rogoff

Phillip Satow

The Jed Foundation

David Shaffer, M.D. (Emeritus Member)

Columbia University

Steve Siple*

BBVA Compass

Andrew Slaby, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.

New York University Medical School

Lawrence Sprung

Mitlin Financial Inc.

Elinor Wohl (Emeritus Member)

Pro Bono Legal Counsel:

Michael Student, Esq., Sullivan & Worcester LLP

Honorary Directors

Larry Bird

Judy Collins

Mariette Hartley

Paloma Picasso

Sen. Harry Reid

Jerry and Elsie Weyrauch

Founders of SPAN USA

* Member of the Executive Committee